Week#2 (Staying on Track)

Just when I thought that getting started was difficult…I realized this week that staying on track is actually the hardest part of any fitness journey. I have my reasons for working out posted on the walls of my home gym to give me a visual reminder of why I need to keep going especially on days that I feel like giving up. It’s a very simple and effective way to keep me on track. I would encourage you to try it too 🙂 all you need is a black marker and some posted notes 😛

This Week’s Food Prep: Food prepping after a long-weekend is always a bit more difficult than usual because a) I’m way too stuffed from the weekend to think about food for a while. b) I still have so much food leftover that we’ll be eating turkey for the next 2 weeks! So, this week I prepared only our staple items like

  • Spinach Egg Muffins
  • Hard Boiled Eggs (for quick snacking)
  • Baked Chicken Breast with Sweet Potatoes *recipe coming soon*
  • Apple Cinnamon Squash Soup *recipe coming soon*

This Week’s Fitness: I’m so happy, even after taking a year-long hiatus from working out. My muscles have already adapted to lifting weights. So, after completing my 2nd week of training and healthy eating. My hubby rewarded me with 3 sets of heavier dumbbells. Yipee…I’m so pumped for week#3 now!

wpid-img_20141017_191345.jpg

Results of Week#2

Monday: One of many cool things about being a mom is that you will NEVER get to sleep-in again 😛 Okay, maybe this is not a cool thing but if you are trying to stay on track with your fitness regiment and have trouble getting out of bed in the morning. Now, you have a mandatory “get up” alarm a.k.a the baby 🙂 Despite the fact that it’s Thanksgiving Monday. Our daughter woke up this morning at her usual time and ate breakfast at her usual time and went back for a nap at her usual time. My husband decided that he would go back to bed and I was so tempted to join them, but I did my workout instead. As always, no matter how much I dread the workout at the beginning…I always feel 110% better after my workout is done.

Tuesday: I woke up today with a list in my head, a list of all the things that I needed to do

  • Bake some chicken for my daughter’s lunch
  • Puree the carrots and beets for my daughter’s dinner
  • Mop the kitchen floor
  • Finish the weekend’s laundry
  • Clean the bathroom

the longer I stayed in bed, the longer the list grew. So, I finally got out of bed but just thinking about the list made me so tired that I just didn’t want to workout anymore. Then the thought of being lazy made me want to skip everything on that list too! This is where I like to practice something called “mind over matter” my mind is trying to convince me of all these untruth but I know better that the truth is working out equals more energy and more energy equals getting more things done. So, I’m happy to say that after making my workout a priority and getting it done first, I was able to complete everything else on my list plus more.

Wednesday: Today I listened to my body and decided to take a rest.

Thursday: So, after taking a much-needed rest day. I was fully charged to get my workout going this morning, especially since today is LEG day (my favourite). I got up, put on my workout gear, fed the baby, changed her and just as I was about to put her down for her usual nap. My husband called to tell me that the delivery guys for our fridge will be here in less than 30 mins!!! (we’re told the night before that they will give us a 3-hour window) so I was not happy about this. This was an unexpected situation but one that had interrupt my daughter’s nap time, my workout time and instantly put me in a bad mood. My husband came home early and offer to watch our daughter for an hour, so that I could still workout today. But I was already in such a bad mood after the delivery guys ended up arriving later and my daughter got cranky from having her nap delayed. I just didn’t want to do anything at all (especially did not want to workout), but hubby knew me best and he assured me that no matter what I’m feeling now, a workout will  always makes me feel better and he was right. This reminds me that it’s really important to have someone to keep you on track, especially if you’re prone to fall off track like me 😛

Friday: Fridays are always crazy in my house, even with the help from my husband who works from home. I still can’t seem to find enough time to get anything done and get to my Mommy & Baby Ministry on time ( I hate being late). So, today I was inspired to create a workout that would give me a full body circuit in less than 15 mins! and posted this on my facebook page to helps others who might need a quick workout plan.

Saturday: After becoming a mom, I realize that there is no such thing as weekends. I get the choice between busy days or super busy days and today definitely fell under super busy day. Thankfully, I was prepared with a workout plan so as soon as baby went down for her nap. I got my workout in and now I feel like I can take on the world. 😛

This Week’s Fun Stuff

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Week#2 (Staying on Track)

  1. 03alwi October 19, 2014 / 7:02 am

    Never too young for those healthy smoothies. My daughter calls them moothiz 🙂

    • Liz October 19, 2014 / 10:50 am

      That’s too cute, I can’t wait til LB starts talking cause right now she babbles a lot!

Leave a Reply

