Asian Pasta Noodle With Edamame

I have a confession to make, I’m not a very good cook :(. You would think that being raised in a Chinese home, I would have picked up this important skill from my mother (who is a fantastic cook). But she’s one of those mothers who always insisted no one would ever want to marry me, unless I learned how to cook! However, whenever I did make the attempt to “help out” in the kitchen. She would shoo me away, because I’m messing up her kitchen and take over ! So, I would be like *WTH* Thankfully, someone did want to marry me (and my lack of cooking skills) and he happens to be a great cook too! I have to admit that I didn’t do much cooking during the first few years of marriage but now that I’ve become a mother, I realize how important it is to learn this skill ASAP! The internet is a great place to start, you can pretty much google anything! I started out by typing in key words like “simple” and “healthy” and then whatever food I was in the mood for making. Today, I’m in the mood for vegetarian.

I found this recipe on a food blog, and checked to see if I had all the ingredients in my pantry/freezer and tried to make my own version of it.

First, I boiled the edamame according to instructions.

IMG_5781

Put the edamame in a pot of water and let the water come to a rolling boil.

IMG_5782

Once it starts boiling, reduce heat and let it boil for about 3-5 mins (when it’s all floating that’s a good sign that its done)

IMG_5784

Drain it and let it cool completely before removing the shells, you can also buy shelled edamame but I find that these taste so much better. (If you have older kids at home, they can help with the shelling of the soy beans) My daughter is still at the stage where she would just try to eat the whole thing or feed it to the dog. 😛

IMG_5786

This is what the soy bean looks like inside.

IMG_5787

Cook 1/2 package of pasta and boil it for about 15 mins.

IMG_5788

Mix 2 tablespoon of reduce sodium soy sauce, 1 tablespoon of flaxseed oil

IMG_5789

I LOVE colourful foods ! (add the sauce mixture)

IMG_5790

I LOVE cold pasta but my husband likes it heated. Either way, this recipe was simple, healthy & delicious !!!

IMG_5791

Care to Share:

How and where did you learned how to cook?  

Leave a Reply

