No Soda & No Birthday Cake

I have a confession to make.

I’ve been planning my daughter’s first birthday party since she was 6 months old 😛 call me crazy, but I love birthdays & I love parties! So, I can’t think of a more important day than my daughter’s big O.N.E. and naturally as a Foodie and a Nutritionist the first thing on my agenda is the type of food I will be serving at this party.
Most of the mommies in my mommy group are on the same boat, so when the topic of food choices for our upcoming parties came up. Everyone was shocked, when I told them that I won’t be serving soda or buying the birthday cake from the store. Yes, I’m aware that I’m going against the grain here (like I always do) but if I’m not the one to set the example for my daughter, who will??? It was very interesting that most of them felt that the success of a birthday party is actually based on how much fat & sugar will be served to the kids & alcohol to the adults. (yea, there will won’t be any alcohol either…c’mon it’s a birthday party for a 1-year-old)

After announcing that I won’t be serving any sugary drinks and a store-bought cake at my daughter’s 1st birthday party. I was suddenly known as the “Mean Mommy” in the group who doesn’t like to let my kid or others have any fun! 😦 The way I see it, healthy eating doesn’t always have to be boring or less “fun” it just means that I need to be more creative and come up with different ways to serve traditional “party foods”.

So, here is the menu plan so far for the party:

  • Turkey Spring Rolls (yes, its deep fried but its loaded with turkey & veggies)
  • Polish Potatoes Salad (potatoes, carrots, parsnip, eggs, pickle, green apples in a greek yogurt dressing)
  • Tuna Avocado Salad
  • Open Salad Bar (Spinach, Peppers, Onions, Hemp Seeds & Our Special Homemade Garlic Dressing)
  • Orange Juice, Apple Juice & Water
  • For Our Guests: Homemade Vanilla Cupcakes
  • For The Birthday Girl: Oatmeal Carrot Cake with REAL buttercream frosting ! See…I can be a fun mommy too 😛
 
Leave a Reply

