A Date With God

So, I’m now in my 2nd week of my 10 week plan. How many days have I worked out in the morning for the past 2 weeks? The answer is 1 out of the intended 6 days a week that I’ve scheduled for myself. I can probably start counting all the reasons/excuses of why I missed my workouts.

The biggest reason and most legitimate one (in my opinion) was the lack of sleep (most new mommies can relate to this one) Then the cycle repeats itself,

  • lack of sleep = no energy to exercise,
  • no exercise = less motivation to make good food choices, and
  • lack of sleep + lack of energy = to sugary food cravings to feel better.

The sugary foods will give me a temporary energy spike but then that energy spike crashes and I’m left feeling more tired than before.

So, what’s the solution? This may be easier said than done, but its worth digging a little deeper and asking myself, why is it so important for me to  get some form of physical activity/exercise on a daily basis?

The answer is simply because its important for me to take good care of myself, so that I have the energy to take care of others around me. But, how do I make this a priority in my life? Solution #1 – I have already tried scheduling it but it’s just so easy to dismiss it when things get tough or I don’t have the time and sometimes the energy to follow through. As a fitness professional, I know how important it is to make time for myself to stay healthy but as a mom & wife, taking care of others will always be more important to me than taking care of myself. 

Solution #2 – Imagine that the time that you are scheduling to “take care of yourself” is actually a date with someone really important (for me that would be God). Just imagine that this time was set aside to meet with someone really important in your life. Would you still choose to sleep-in? Wouldn’t you make this meeting a top priority and show up, no matter what !

I haven’t put this thought into practice and again it might be easier said than done, but it might be worth a try before I miss another 6 workouts because a meeting with my own health just wasn’t important enough for me to follow through.

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies. 
– 1 Corinthians 6:19-20
Leave a Reply

