Getting Back In Shape (Post-Natal)

IMG_2082
This was taken last April. I was already 5 months pregnant !!!

Before I became pregnant, I was training for a fitness competition. During my pregnancy I continued to train regularly but scaled back on the amount of weights that I was lifting. By 31 weeks my doctor had ordered for me to stop training due to my below average body fat percentage and I was running the risk of being anemic. For me, working out regularly had become a lifestyle so it was very hard to stop but I had to do what was best for my baby. I had only gained 25-30 lbs during my pregnancy (healthy & normal) but I told myself that once the baby arrives, I will get back to the gym asap and bounce back in no time. LOL silly me, this was before I knew what life would be like with a newborn baby. Fast forward, 7 months and the “baby” weight has surely crept up on me but I can’t blame it on the baby. I had actually gained this weight after the baby was born and despite religiously breastfeeding (which was suppose to help with rapid weight loss) The bad food choices that I made and the lack of exercise (due to lack of sleep) made me put on an extra 30lbs. There are many studies claiming that there is no link between exercise and decrease in milk production but this was not the case for me. I had tried to exercise when my daughter was 3 months old. However I noticed that every time I tried to workout my baby was struggling to get a good feeding. The choice was clear to stop until my baby can get a different source of nutrients. In retrospect, I could have made better food choices despite not being able to exercise during this time but hey nobody is perfect. This just comes to show that we ALL fall off the wagon sometimes. The most important thing is to realize when you have fallen because you no longer feel good about yourself and to get back on track.

This was taken a few weeks ago. For obvious reasons I avoid the camera nowadays.
This was taken a few weeks ago. For obvious reasons I avoid the camera nowadays.

 

Every weight lost journey begins with a plan, if you want to succeed you’ll need a plan. Now there are no magic pills in my plan, just good old fashion. Eat healthy & Lift heavy weights & Lots of Mommy walks. Weight loss is a journey not a race. I didn’t gain all this weight overnight so I don’t expect to lose it overnight either.

Being a mommy has helped me gained a new-found respect for my body.

Here’s a few tips to help you get started on making a plan:

  • Set A Goal When you set a goal that is specific & measurable it gives you motivation to start taking action.
  • Give Yourself A Timeline Giving yourself a timeline helps to make you accountable for the goal that you have made.
  • Make A Plan Whether it is your eating plan or work out plan, in order for you to reach your goal you’ll need a plan.
  • Have a Prep Day Take one day out of the week (for just a few hours) to prepare all your meals (to eat at home, or take to work). This will save you a lot of money and help you avoid hitting the drive-thru window during the week.
  • Stay Focused Keep your eyes on the prize. We’re all faced with temptations but having things like written quotes or unflattering photos posted in places where you can see it all the time can help you stay focused.
  • Evaluate One of the best way to check your progress is to take weekly photos in a swimsuit or bikini. This makes a wonderful keepsake of your before & after photos.
Leave a Reply

